|
01-05-2004, 05:56 PM | #1 |
Green Mole
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 15
|
Blank results are being returned
Howdy. I may have caused this, because I can't find a record of this occuring in any other post.
Anyway, I'm getting search results that are blank. Example: http://search.aodojo.com/search.php?...t&lim_start=10 You will see a few times on the search results "- 0.0 k" How I may of caused this: The search engine is going to be independently linked, and also linked through a 404 error, reading the attempted url and parsing it through the engine to find a good match. If it finds a "Direct Hit" verbatim, it will redirect there, if it doesn't find it verbatim, it will suggest the page, then display the rest of the search results. An example of this can be found by going to http://search.aodojo.com/ and searching "ships" That is a non-verbatim return. If you search "ship" it will redirect you instantly to the ships page. Why I don't think I caused this: I didn't touch anything mySql, and I didn't mess that much around in the files... I had 5 sites on index, and deleted 4 and left the big one, the root aodojo.com. Deleting these sites did nothing in removign the odd results. |
01-06-2004, 01:21 AM | #2 |
Head Mole
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
|
Hi. Are there any files in the text_content directory that have zero filesize? If you can run grep -ci saga * from shell, how many files in the text_content directory have at least one instance of saga?
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension. |
01-06-2004, 03:56 AM | #3 |
Green Mole
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 15
|
No, the smallest is 274 b though. I have shell access, never used it on this account though so I'll need to wait a day or so for them to enable it. I'll get back to you then.
|
01-07-2004, 02:31 PM | #4 |
Green Mole
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 15
|
Apperently 67.
|
01-09-2004, 04:32 AM | #5 |
Head Mole
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
|
>> You will see a few times on the search results "- 0.0 k"
>> No, the smallest is 274 b though. Hi. Try running the following query: Code:
select count(*) from spider where filesize = 0;
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension. |
01-09-2004, 08:47 PM | #6 |
Green Mole
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 15
|
SQL result
Host: localhost Database : mononex_phpdig Generation Time: Jan 09, 2004 at 11:47 PM Generated by: phpMyAdmin 2.5.2 SQL-query: SELECT count( * ) FROM spider WHERE filesize = 0; count( * ) 0 |
01-11-2004, 07:01 PM | #7 |
Head Mole
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
|
Hi. It seems that the results that are getting unset somehow might wind up back in the search results. What text output do you get if you do the following in search.php and then search on saga?
PHP Code:
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension. |
01-12-2004, 03:45 AM | #8 |
Green Mole
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 15
|
Nothing out of the ordinary. Perhaps I inserted it wrong into search.php?
PHP Code:
|
01-12-2004, 03:59 AM | #9 |
Head Mole
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
|
Hi. That looks fine. It didn't return any blank results? What template are you using?
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension. |
01-12-2004, 04:34 AM | #10 |
Head Mole
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
|
Hi. I tried dojo.php as my template. Of course, I can't get the actual PHP but the HTML output from dojo.php seems to work okay. Can you set your search up so dojo.php is just the HTML from http://search.aodojo.com/templates/dojo.php and then search on saga? Does it still return blank results?
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension. |
01-12-2004, 12:42 PM | #11 |
Green Mole
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 15
|
I changed it to dojo.html. I hadn't added any php to the layout yet, but it is changed to .html now.
Blank results are still being returned. Matt |
01-12-2004, 12:44 PM | #12 |
Green Mole
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 15
|
Should I just try reinstalling phpdig?
|
01-13-2004, 03:25 PM | #13 |
Head Mole
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
|
Hi. Where any blank results returned when you used print_r($my_test_array); in the search.php file?
Also, what happens if you use the below template? Code:
<html> <head> <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1"> <style> .phpdigHighlight {font-weight:bold;} </style> </head> <body bgcolor="white"> <font face='arial,helvetica'> <phpdig:form_head/> <phpdig:form_field/> <phpdig:form_button/> <phpdig:form_foot/> <br /> <font size="2"> <b><phpdig:result_message/></b> <br /><i><phpdig:ignore_message/></i> <br /><i><phpdig:ignore_commess/></i> </font> <phpdig:results> <p> <phpdig:page_link/><br /> <font size='2'> <phpdig:text/> </font> <br /> <font size='2' color='green'><phpdig:complete_path/> <phpdig:filesize/> k</font> </p> </phpdig:results> <p align='center'> <font size="2"><phpdig:nav_bar/></font> </p> </font> </body> </html>
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension. |
01-13-2004, 05:42 PM | #14 |
Green Mole
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 15
|
The print_r thing did not remove the blank results.
The updated template did not remove the blank results, although it did as some interesting things at the bottom of the page. Your template is still in use if you wish to look. |
01-13-2004, 06:26 PM | #15 |
Head Mole
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
|
Hi. Thanks, feel free to put your template back in place. Did you make any mods to the search_function.php file? If so, can you attach the file in a post?
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension. |
|
|
Similar Threads | ||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Blank results & Speed | Dave A | Troubleshooting | 0 | 06-30-2007 03:05 AM |
config of search tool/blank results page | jag7720 | Troubleshooting | 1 | 06-26-2006 10:22 AM |
Search results returns blank page | Anton | Troubleshooting | 1 | 02-11-2006 11:20 PM |
Search results returns blank page | Anton | Troubleshooting | 0 | 01-05-2006 09:56 PM |
First 5 results are blank? | huge_nerd | Troubleshooting | 8 | 01-04-2005 11:18 AM |