|
11-16-2003, 03:58 PM | #1 |
Green Mole
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 7
|
No TEMPs, No Safe Mode
I can not spider my web, because server runs in SAFE MODE. But I found that I can spider it on localhost (using real URL to index) and then extract my database and import it to database on server. This WORKS! But because this is really annoying I need help how to do it on server. There must be a way!!!
I am amateur but I suppose that what safe mode has problem with is the temp directory creating, anyway i did not found it usefull, or even found what it is good for :-)) So please, can you help me, how could i spider my web online, i only want to make the db entries, no TEMP dir and tempspider etc.??? |
11-16-2003, 04:11 PM | #2 |
Head Mole
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
|
Hi. PhpDig stores keywords in the database and uses these to help pull search results from text files, where the text files are created during the indexing process. Is the database itself useful without the text files? As PhpDig uses some of the functions listed here, it will not work in safe mode.
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension. |
11-17-2003, 01:04 AM | #3 |
Green Mole
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 7
|
Thanks for replying. Yes, the database works absolutely alright to me even without text files, so the thing i want is a mod that will bypass creating this temporary step and files, so that spider no more crashes with safe mode...
On my search results page i only have the page title (not the text from page body) displayed so maybe this is why i dont need the text files. |
11-17-2003, 01:13 AM | #4 |
Head Mole
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
|
Hi. Perhaps try setting CONTENT_TEXT to zero in the config file and keep the three PHPDIG_INDEX_* set to false. Does this get around all the safe mode disabled functions for you?
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension. |
11-17-2003, 01:19 AM | #5 |
Green Mole
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 7
|
Already set to 0 / false... Also I deleted the two time_limit occurence that was making trouble. But still when trying to spider web, it ends up with "Unable to create temp directory".... I dont want either creating these files not make the spider collapse OR make him not to try to make them...
|
11-17-2003, 01:21 AM | #6 |
Head Mole
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
|
Hi. Go into robot_functions.php and comment out the following.
PHP Code:
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension. |
11-17-2003, 01:42 AM | #7 |
Green Mole
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 7
|
now it ends with
Code:
Warning: fopen(../admin/temp/8d3eaaf35b4fc96a31071d6400f576eb.tmp): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /DISK3/WWW/xxxx/www/search/admin/robot_functions.php on line 639 Warning: fwrite(): supplied argument is not a valid stream resource in /DISK3/WWW/xxxx/www/search/admin/robot_functions.php on line 641 Warning: fclose(): supplied argument is not a valid stream resource in /DISK3/WWW/xxxx/www/search/admin/robot_functions.php on line 643 Warning: filesize(): Stat failed for ../admin/temp/8d3eaaf35b4fc96a31071d6400f576eb.tmp (errno=2 - No such file or directory) in /DISK3/WWW/xxxx/www/search/admin/robot_functions.php on line 644 1:http://xxxx/ (èas : 00:00:00) no link in temporary table |
11-17-2003, 01:53 AM | #8 |
Head Mole
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
|
Hi. You can comment out those parts, or go to those lines and stick a @ right in front of the letter f to silence those warnings, or add error_reporting(0); to the top of the file. However, the latter will silence all errors so that's probably not wanted at this point.
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension. |
11-17-2003, 01:59 AM | #9 |
Green Mole
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 7
|
I think i found the solution :-) I just created the Admin/Temp directory by myself and attributed it 777... now EVERYTHING works GREAT. Strange...
|
11-17-2003, 02:02 AM | #10 |
Head Mole
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
|
Hi. Glad it's working. The temp directory is needed for the functions in the warnings posted above. With safe mode every so often you might want to check the temp directory and empty it out if needed. Is PhpDig crawling links from the first page now too?
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension. |
11-17-2003, 02:11 AM | #11 |
Green Mole
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 7
|
yes, all links index ok. amazingly i cant see any files in that temp dir, but as it finally works, i dont care :-) and of course if they really are not there - i am glad *1* Thanks!
|
11-17-2003, 02:13 AM | #12 |
Head Mole
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
|
Hi. If you don't see them, then they're not there. So what's the link to your search page? I'd like to see how this displays for you.
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension. |
11-17-2003, 02:24 AM | #13 |
Green Mole
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 7
|
i use it at www.oipunk.net - just use the search form on the left. it does not use a lot of phpdig but this is everything i really need and want for my web. btw i am redoing the web (to new layout) so there is yet not too much to search :-))) try searching for "recenze" for example this will give you the most results.
Last edited by tyrol_gangster; 11-17-2003 at 02:27 AM. |
11-17-2003, 02:43 AM | #14 |
Head Mole
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
|
Cool. Glad safe mode users can get some functionality from PhpDig too.
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension. |
|
|
Similar Threads | ||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Problem.....sefe mode is ON | xtcsoft | Troubleshooting | 1 | 07-24-2004 06:24 PM |
how to run spider.php in background mode | 123av | How-to Forum | 1 | 04-10-2004 12:29 PM |
Shell mode not working | bloodjelly | Troubleshooting | 8 | 04-08-2004 05:43 PM |
safe mode problem | Killersushi | Troubleshooting | 3 | 12-23-2003 01:27 PM |