|
03-17-2004, 04:32 PM | #1 |
Purple Mole
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 106
|
Shell mode not working
Hi -
I've been running this command fine for a while, so I know it worked at one point: PHP: -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- exec("/usr/bin/php -f /path/to/spider.php $site >> /dev/null &"); -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- where $site = "http://www.mysite.com/" This worked great until I recently upgraded to a newer version of PHP, and now the command doesn't produce any results. I tried the command EXEC('WHOAMI') which worked, so I know exec still functions properly. The path to PHP is correct as well. Any ideas?
__________________
Foundmyself.com artist community, art galleries |
03-21-2004, 04:35 PM | #2 |
Purple Mole
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 106
|
I figured out that the problem comes from this code in the configuration file:
PHP Code:
__________________
Foundmyself.com artist community, art galleries |
03-21-2004, 04:50 PM | #3 |
Head Mole
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
|
>> exec("/usr/bin/php -f /path/to/spider.php $site >> /dev/null &");
Hi. If you run spider.php from the admin directory it should be okay, but if you run spider.php from another directory, try adding ../path/to as part of that code in the configuration file.
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension. |
03-21-2004, 05:40 PM | #4 |
Purple Mole
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 106
|
ok, it works in the admin directory. Thanks charter.
__________________
Foundmyself.com artist community, art galleries |
03-21-2004, 10:57 PM | #5 |
Purple Mole
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 106
|
spoke too soon -
It's having weird problems now. It only spiders one site at a time, even when I run multiple execs, and sometimes they run after I close the browser, sometimes they don't, even when all of them are told to run in the background with the command I gave. I'm going insane
__________________
Foundmyself.com artist community, art galleries |
03-23-2004, 01:19 AM | #6 |
Head Mole
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
|
Hi. Closing the browser does not necessarily stop a process. To guarantee the stop of a process, perhaps use kill -9 PID where PID is the process ID number. Also, when you run multiple execs, try watching the tempspider table to see if the multiple site URLs show up in the table.
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension. |
03-23-2004, 11:09 AM | #7 |
Purple Mole
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 106
|
I've sent the question to globalservers to see what they can make of it. Redirecting the errors last night gave me this message when I tried running the exec command twice with two different urls:
"/usr/bin/php: error while loading shared libraries: libstdc++-libc6.2-2.so.3: cannot open shared object file: Error 23" Then pretty soon I reloaded the page enough to get this: "PHP Warning: Unable to load dynamic library '/usr/lib/php4/ldap.so' - libldap.so.2: cannot open shared object file: Too many open files in system in Unknown on line 0" Still I can only get one site to spider at a time. Maybe it has something to do with the redirection?
__________________
Foundmyself.com artist community, art galleries |
03-24-2004, 10:13 AM | #8 |
Head Mole
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,539
|
Hi. There was another "too many open files" error reported in this thread. Maybe your errors are for the same reason? Perhaps the wrapper in this thread may be of interest.
__________________
Responses are offered on a voluntary if/as time is available basis, no guarantees. Double posting or bumping threads will not get your question answered any faster. No support via PM or email, responses not guaranteed. Thank you for your comprehension. |
04-08-2004, 05:43 PM | #9 |
Purple Mole
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 106
|
Thanks for the help, charter. The problem was with Globalservers, but as they have a tendency of doing, they fixed the problem without telling me what it was. I might try that wrapper anyway, though. Thanks again
__________________
Foundmyself.com artist community, art galleries |
|
|
Similar Threads | ||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Problem.....sefe mode is ON | xtcsoft | Troubleshooting | 1 | 07-24-2004 06:24 PM |
Shell Spidering | CrazyCanuck | Troubleshooting | 3 | 04-20-2004 10:56 AM |
how to run spider.php in background mode | 123av | How-to Forum | 1 | 04-10-2004 12:29 PM |
safe mode problem | Killersushi | Troubleshooting | 3 | 12-23-2003 01:27 PM |
No TEMPs, No Safe Mode | tyrol_gangster | Mod Requests | 13 | 11-17-2003 02:43 AM |